Follow Us on Social Media!

St. Louis Children’s Charity Golf Tournament

Register Now: GOLF DINNER & GOLF


Rich LoRusso Culinary Scholarship Award

Joe Tangaro Sports Award

The St. Louis Italian Open Charity for Children, Inc. (IO), in conjunction with the ACF Chefs de Cuisine Association of St. Louis Inc., is seeking qualified applicants for the Rich LoRusso Culinary Scholarship Award and the chosen applicant will receive up to $5000 towards tuition.

Rich LoRusso was a warm, affable, and gregarious personality. LoRusso’s Cucina provided guests an excellent culinary experience for over 35 years. More importantly, Rich generously helped fund countless charities in the St. Louis area during his entire professional life. From proud Italian roots originating on the Hill, he was a true pillar of the community. Rich loved to celebrate life, food, wine, and his Italian culture. An Italian Open honoree and board member, we are very moved to create a scholarship in his memory to honor his generous contributions to the community. This award will be given annually to a candidate who has serious career interests in the culinary and hospitality industry.

2023 Recipient: Caeli Millett!

Throughout the entire history of the St. Louis Italian Open there has been one common thread, one constant, one pillar of strength to pass the baton from one generation to the next. That was a man named Joe Tangaro. Joe was an original founder of the Italian Open. He was past president and Chairman of the Board. Joe Tangaro was what the IO was all about.

Joe’s memory is now etched forever and ever in the foundation and roots of the organization he began, nurtured, and helped grow into what it is today.

Joe was a living reminder of why the IO and organizations like it need to exist. With ALS, he lived the pain and suffering daily of what the IO tries to eliminate.

2023 Recipients: Thomas Collora & Dominic Perotta!

Honoring Past Recipients

Rich LoRusso Culinary Scholarship Award

Joe Tangaro Sports Award

Sarah Kirk

Natalie Leininger

Craig Ortwerth

Catherine Cassani

Grace Frisella

Jimmy Lahrman

Alexis Cassani

Andrew Grassi

Alex Severino